Skip to content

Ukraine names 2 Nobel Prize winners, 5 other leading economists to new recovery advisory council

Economist Ken Rogoff. (Photo from IMF)

By Ukraine Rebuild News Staff

The government of Ukraine named Nobel Prize winners Ken Rogoff and Roger Myerson and five other economists to the newly created Economic Policy Advisory Council tasked with advising the Ukrainian Ministry of Economy on economic recovery.

The council will “focus on developing recommendations on the architecture of Ukraine's recovery, including fiscal and monetary policy, the situation on the labor market, and government regulations,” the government said on its website today.

The government said the council’s recommendations may also influence its positions on the European Commission’s Ukraine Facility, a program announced in June that foresees as much as 50 billion euros in European grants and loans for Ukrainian recovery between 2024 and 2027.

Besides Rogoff, the former IMF chief economist who won a Nobel Prize for economics in 2002 and Myerson, the University of Chicago professor who won the prize in 2007, the council includes:

· Rory McFarquhar, senior vice president of International Institutions Engagement at Mastercard;

· Beatriz Weder di Mauro, president of the Center for Economic Policy Research(CEPR);

· Torbjörn Becker, director of the Stockholm Institute of Transition Economics (SITE);

· Gerard Roland, Professor of Economics and Political Science at the University of California, Berkeley;

· Tymofiy Mylovanov, President of the Kyiv School of Economics, Professor at the University of Pittsburgh, and other participants.

Sign up for free access to all articles and a weekly newsletter!

Pease check your inbox and click the link to complete signup, Thank You!
Sorry, something went wrong. Please try again.